## CHESHIRE EAST COUNCIL

Minutes of a meeting of the **Lay Members Appointments Committee** held on Friday, 9th March, 2012 at Committee Suite 1,2 & 3, Westfields, Middlewich Road, Sandbach CW11 1HZ

#### **PRESENT**

Councillor A Thwaite (Chairman)

Councillors A Barratt, P Nurse and L Smetham

## **Officers**

Victoria Cassidy, Senior Solicitor Rachel Graves, Democratic Services Officer

#### 6 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN

It was moved and seconded that Councillor A Thwaite be appointed as Chairman for the meeting.

#### **RESOLVED:**

That Councillor A Thwaite be appointed as Chairman for the meeting.

## 7 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies were received from Councillors P Edwards, A Harewood and D Marren.

### 8 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Councillor A Thwaite declared a personal interest as he knew one of the applicants.

Councillor P Nurse declared a personal interest as he knew six of the applicants.

## 9 PUBLIC SPEAKING TIME/OPEN SESSION

There were no members of the public present.

## 10 EXCLUSION OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

#### **RESOLVED:**

That the press and public be excluded from the meeting during the consideration if the following item pursuant to Section 100(A)4 of the Local Government Act 1972 on the grounds that they involved the disclosure of exempt information as defined in Paragraphs 1 and 2 of Part 1 of

Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972 and public interest would not be served in publishing this information.

# 11 APPOINTMENT OF LAY MEMBERS TO INDEPENDENT APPEAL PANEL FOR SCHOOL ADMISSIONS

The Committee considered a report on the appointment of members to sit on both School Admission Appeals Panels and Exclusion Appeal Panels.

Where an admission authority refused a child a place at a particular school, the parent had the right to appeal the decision to an independent appeal panel under the School Standards and Framework Act 1998. Where a pupil had been permanently excluded following a disciplinary offence by a head teacher, parents had a right of appeal to an independent appeal panel.

The Council had received in excess of 40 applications from members of the public expressing interest in training to become independent appeal panel members for school admissions and exclusions. The list of applicants was set out in an Appendix to the report. The applicants were accessed against the criteria detailed in the School Admissions (Appeal Arrangements) (England) Regulations 2012.

#### **RESOLVED:**

That the following be appointed to the pool of persons available to sit on Independent Appeal Panels:

Mr Roger Badman

Mrs Linda Barlett

Mrs Jean Betts

Mr David Black

Mr Christopher Brierly

Mrs Shirley Catherall

Mr Thomas Clutton

Ms Caroline Coles

Mr Barry Cooper

Mrs Sylvia Cornock

Mrs Georgina Denny

Mrs Jenny Davies

Mr Neil Fowkes

Mrs Deborah Fronte

Mrs Norma Frost

Mr Graham Goodchild

Mr Nick Harvey

Mr George Hayes

Ms Susan Holland

Ms Lynda Millington

Mr Daniel Mulrooney

Mrs Maria Neville

Mr David Parsons
Ms Barbara Pendery
Mrs Patricia Richards
Miss Rosemary Richards
Mr Brian Ridley
Mr Glynn Robinson
Mr David Scott
Mr Stuart Sim
Mr Clive Smith
Mr Edward Smith
Mr David Spall
Mrs Shan Thomas
Ms Helen Walker
Mr John Whitelock
Mrs Helen Williams

The meeting commenced at 10.05 am and concluded at 10.20 am

Councillor A Thwaite (Chairman)